Campus Dining 'Waste Warriors' Honored with Presidential Team Irish Award

Author: Chris Abayasinghe

On September 17th, a team of individuals within Campus Dining was honored for their work with LeanPath, a waste prevention program. Involving hours of meeting and planning, the LeanPath program required the installation of special food scales in Notre Dame's North and South Dining Halls and the Center for Culinary Excellence along with the process of educating staff members with use of these scales for optimal impact.

Staff of Campus Dining received Presidential Team Irish Award

Thus far, the team affectionately named 'Waste Warriors,' has prevented 76,627 pounds of food from being thrown out since January of 2016, which represents a 39.3% reduction of pre-consumer waste—equal to 7.7 elephants! This process has also reduced the department's CO2 emissions by an amount equivalent to using 3,247 gallons of gas.

Notre Dame's Presidential Team Irish Award is meant to acknowledge core staff teams that exemplify the University's Core Values on behalf of their department and the University. The following members of the Campus Dining Waste Warriors team were honored during the game: John Glon, Cheryl Bauer, Marc Poklinkowski, Reginald Kalili, Giuseppe Macerata, Don Miller, Mike Davy, Erin Hafner, Paul Costello, Julie Caligiuri, Kathleen Carr, Bonnie Kehoe, Terrell Squires, Mai Izzedin and Charu Chandra Pant. 

One more thing—now that the Waste Warriors have mastered the reduction of pre-consumer waste, they've targeted post-consumer waste as their next big goal!